Monday, May 22, 2023

#NewMusicMonday • 5/19/23 • Paul Simon's Seven Psalms


Paul Simon's new album is not a typical album of songs, rather seven connected works.

Produced by Simon and Kyle Crusham, Seven Psalms is a single suite of music comprised of the following seven interlinked movements:

1. The Lord
2. Love Is Like A Braid
3. My Professional Opinion
4. Your Forgiveness
5. Trail of Volcanoes
6. The Sacred Harp
7. Wait

I've been listening to it on YouTube and present it here. What I like is that the original form is a 33 minute continuous stream of music. I'm sure others will break up the seven songs, but what it did for me was force me to make time to listen to a half hour of music. Kind of like when I was a teenager, buy an album and sit in my bedroom and listen to the entire piece. I suggest taking it on a walk with your phone, somewhere in nature away from the cars and noise, or just maybe in a quiet room with amplified equipment.

Enjoy my friends.

1 comment:

  1. Thanks Doug! Going walking with this sometime today.


Leave a comment, but please NO LINKED URLs. Thanks. And, if you do leave a link, I will delete.